Gurgaon District Information & Quick Facts

Gurgaon District Information & Quick Facts

Country: India > State: Haryana > City: Gurgaon

Elevation: 220 m (720 ft) | Time Zone: IST (UTC +5:30) | Pin Code: 122001 to 122017 | Telephone Code: 91 124 XXX XXXX | Population: 1,514,085 | Vehicle Registration: HR-26,HR-55,HR-72

Lok Sabha Constituency: Gurgaon Lok Sabha Constituency | Vidhan Sabha Constituency: Gurgaon City

Planning Agency: Haryana Urban Development Authority (HUDA) | Civic Agency: Municipal Corporation of Gurgaon (MCG)

District Gurgaon remained a small farming village in the neighborhood of Delhi India’s political capital. The launch of the automotive company Maruti Suzuki jump started Gurgaon’s growth and changed its future. In addition, Delhi’s economic rise attracted a large influx of labourers from neighboring regions like Rajasthan, Odisha and Bihar, rapidly increasing Delhi’s population. By the early 1990s, Delhi was one of the most populous and crowded cities in the world and the need for a satellite city became visibly apparent. Gurgaon seemed like an ideal choice given its vast undeveloped farming lands and proximity to Delhi. Haryana Urban Development Authority bought large areas of land from farmers in Gurgaon and developed residential and commercial sectors.

In the 1990s the Government of India reformed the tax laws, thereby attracting private companies to build world-class buildings in Gurgaon. The close proximity of Delhi International Airport also attracted private firms. The recent completion of the privatized Delhi-Gurgaon expressway provides Gurgaon with world-class connectivity to Delhi International Airport, which has in turn attracted even more firms to locate their offices in Gurgaon.

On its north, Gurgaon district is bounded by the district of Jhajjar and Delhi. Faridabad district lies to its east. On its south, the district shares boundaries with the Mewat District. To its west lie the Rewari district and the Rajasthan state. Gurgaon city is situated at the northern edge of Aravali mountain range.

The Gurgaon district is divided into 3 sub-divisions: Gurgaon North, Gurgaon South and Pataudi, which are further divided into 5 tehsils, namely, Gurgaon, Sohna, Pataudi, Farukh Nagar, Manesar. It also comprises four blocks, Pataudi, Sohna, Gurgaon and Farrukhnagar.

There are 4 Haryana Vidhan Sabha (Legislative Assembly) constituencies located in Gurgaon district: Pataudi, Badshahpur, Gurgaon and Sohna. All of these are part of Gurgaon Lok Sabha (House of the People is the lower house of the Parliament of India) constituency.

Read more! Culture of Gurgaon